Thursday, September 8, 2011


Province: Central Province
Location: Peradeniya Central College
Date : June 26

Boys under 14

Champion Mahena Wawathnna Primary C. - Walapane
Runner up Peradeniya Central College - Peradeniya

Girls under 14

Champion Peradeniya Central College - Peradeniya
Runner up Mahena Wawathnna Primary C. - Walapane

Boys under 16

Champion Jinaraja Maha Vidyalaya - Gampola
Runner up Batagolla Pushpadewa M.V - Walapane

Girls under 16

Champion Seethadevi Girls College - Kandy
Runner up Keenapalassa Maha Vidyalaya - Hasalaka

Boys under 18

Champion Vidyartha Vidyalaya - Kandy
Runner up Walala A. Rathnayake M.M.V - Walala

Girls under 18

Champion High Girls College - kandy
Runner up Kolongoda M.M.V - Hasalaka News

Wesley and Seethadevi hockey champions

Wesley College Colombo and Seethadevi Balika MV Kandy emerged champions at the All Island Inter-School Under 17 Hockey Championships that was played recently in Colombo.15-3
The championship was conducted by the Sri Lanka School Hockey Association. It was the victory of Wesley College that stole the limelight as this was the first time in the school hockey history they were able to win the championship. Incidentally it was after a lapse of 31 years they were able to win a championship title in an inter-school championship. Nalanda College Colombo became the runner up while St. Thomas’ College Matale won the second runner up award.15-4
It was notable that schools from Kandy had dominated the girls’ segment by sweeping the board. Seethadevi Balika MV emerged champions while Pushpadana Balika Vidyalaya and St. Anthony’s Balika Vidyalaya Katugastota won the runner up and the second runner up awards respectively.
Best player of the boys’ category was Emad Musamil of Wesley College while Chaturika Ekanayake of Pushpadana Balika MV was picked up as the best player of the girls’ category.
The award ceremony of the championship was held at Royal College Colombo with the participation of Sumith Edirisinghe as the chief guest who is the President of Sri Lanka Hockey Federation.

Sunday Lakbima News
Sunday 04 September 2011
Seetha Devi girls' school, Kandy clinched a hockey double, when their under 17 hockey team emerged champions in both Kandy schools league hockey championship-2011 conducted by Kandy Schools Hockey Committee in Kandy and the all-island schools hockey tournament 2011 for under 17 girls conducted by Sri Lanka Schools Hockey Association together with Colombo Shools Hockey Committee in Colombo recently.
Led by Samadara Chandrika Kumari and coached by M.A.M. Ashroff, Seetha Devians beat their home town rivals Pushpadana Girls Kandy 1-0 in the final to annex the title at the all island schools under 17 hockey championships 2011at the College ground, Colombo recently.

Standing from left - S. Paraneedaran (Asst. Coach), N.D Weerasinghe, D. Amarasooriya, Samadara Chandrika, W.M. Themiyadasa (President SLSHA), Sumith Edirisinghe (President SLHF), M.A.M. AShroff (HD Coach), S. Wijesinghe (Secretary SLSHA), N. Vishwanathan (SLHF), S.M. Illeperuma, N.H. Ratnayake, H. Ekanayake, D.G. Prakash (Asst Coach). Squatting H.S. Karunaratne, A.M. Indunil, T.I Dissanayake, K.S Guruge, W.W. Jayasinghe, D. Rajapakse,  N. Ratnayake, M.R. Ranasinghe, S. Madubhashini, S.T. Paranagama, M. Dilrukshi, P.M. Fernando, S. Fernando.

Daily Mirror
Wednesday, 31 August 2011 01:28